Cooking

Summer Homemade Plum Jam

My backyard plum tree has been producing like crazy this summer! I think it liked all the spring rain we got here.

I’ve been trying to find new ways to use the plums. So far I’ve taken a bunch to work, given them away to friends, and even gave a few away to a nice couple Brentan and I met wine tasting in Santa Barbara county last weekend! I’ve also learned how to make jam and made two batches of homemade plum jam.

I modified a Martha Stewart plum jam recipe with the recipe for stone fruit jam on the pectin package to make my summer plum jam. You can easily recreate it with about 7 cups of fresh stone fruit, pectin, sugar and lemon juice!

The jam has already gone on lots of toast, in a baked brie, and on a pb&j sandwich, and I have to say it is the perfect mix of sweet and tangy. Yum!

2 thoughts on “Summer Homemade Plum Jam

  1. I made jam yesterday after picking plums from our neighbors tree. First time ever making any type of jam/jelly. I’ve got 7 cups of plums left over all ready to go. Wished you would’ve explained how you tweaked Martha Stewart’s Recipe. When making my jam I used 1/2 tsp of butter & a squeeze of lemon, and I had no foam. My husband also added a 1/2 or 1 tsp of cinnamon. It really kicked up the flavor a lot! Just got into canning from our square foot gardening and it’s quite fun. Any tips you have for the 7 cups of plums would be greatly appreciated!
    Thank You!
    Diana

Leave a Reply

