bathroom / before and after / Uncategorized

A farmhouse bathroom

In anticipation of Thanksgiving and the onslaught of weekend guests, I feverishly worked to finish the guest bathroom remodel that I began last summer. I accomplished my goal of learning to use our power tools. The first few cuts with the table saw scared me so much that I had to sit down to calm my shaking hands. But the more I use it, the more confident I become. I now know how to make mitered cuts with the chop saw, curved cuts with the jig saw and finished edges with the router. I can say that I have been on one long power trip since last summer. I am very very slow but I still have all my fingers and a new bathroom. I sing a little mantra to myself every time I approach an electric saw “eyes, ears, fingers are they all okay?” I wear  earplugs and safety glasses  without fail. I really really respect those tools.

Here are some photos of the bathroom before the remodel:

I knocked down the plaster wall behind the pedestal sink and toilet and discovered a brick wall! I wish that the brick was in better shape so that I could have exposed it but in the end I covered it back up with drywall.

Here is the cabinet that I bought on craigslist for $25

I refinished it and added some trim on the bottom and sides to make it look more like a piece of furniture.

Here is the finished bathroom!

The entire remodel cost about $1700. About half that amount was for the marble counter top. I did not re-do any tile…I did that about 8 years ago. I did add bead board wainscoting new lighting, a new vanity and sink and built in shelves for towels. We hired a plumber to move the plumbing over about 18 inches but I connected the faucet and sink. I have a few tweaks to make before I am satisfied but overall, I can say that I’m very happy! I’ve been living in this bathroom for many weeks and I’m ready to get out of the house and on with my life…Peg

One thought on “A farmhouse bathroom

  1. Pingback: Painting Brass – A Tutorial « Just About Home

Leave a Reply

