Decorating / Entertaining / Making

How to Make a Vintage Bed Linen Table Runner

One of the first things I did when I was home for Thanksgiving last week (after sleeping off the jet lag from a red eye flight) was help my mom make a table runner out of these vintage Swedish bed linens. She’s had this piece of fabric for a while, after picking it up at an estate sale (where else?) for $5.

For that price, despite the beautiful craftmanship and fabric, it was worth it to reinvent its purpose rather than let it sit in the closet and never use it on a bed.

First, I cut the fabric to the right size.

Then my mom folded the edges over twice and ironed the seams.

Finally, I sewed along the edges to finish the seams.

It was easy and quick.

Isn’t this vintage fabric fabulous!?

I love how it turned out on the Thanksgiving table. And it can be used again and again. See?

-Liz

2 thoughts on “How to Make a Vintage Bed Linen Table Runner

  1. Thanks so much for sharing! I have had such a hard time finding a table runner that I like in the right fabric. It never occurred to me to make my own.

Leave a Reply

