Uncategorized

You Think You are So Big

 I am about to head off to work at our garden center to sell Christmas trees. We sell 500 or so trees every year. Fraser Fir, Scotch pine, Balsam Fir, White Pine are some of the varieties. The Balsam Fir smells the most ‘Christmasy’ and the Fraser Fir is the most expensive. I love them all. I love the tradition of bringing a tree indoors at Christmas. I love the fact that we make a tree the centerpiece of our holidays. Trees have been a huge part of my life beginning  in 1984 when my husband and I went to live high (12,00ft) in the Andes mountains of Ecuador to start a tree nursery to help with the de-forestation in that area.  I often wonder how many of the thousands of tree seedlings that we helped get started are still standing today.

Trees continue to play a central role in my life; Jay and I came to MN to start a tree and shrub garden center when the kids were little. We have been selling and planting trees ever since. It feels good to know that we have made a small impact on the planet. Henry, our youngest son is pictured here with some giant redwoods in Yosemite national park in CA. This picture was taken last year when we were just about to drop him off at school in San Luis Obispo for his freshman year. I call it, ‘You Think You are So Big’. It is a reminder of how small we are in this big wonderful world.

I’m just thinking about trees today…Here are a few tree pictures I have taken this past year.  -Peg

4 thoughts on “You Think You are So Big

  1. Pingback: Farmhouse Bedroom « Just About Home

  2. Yep, Dad and I were just talking about the time we took you kids to see a very old ironwood tree in MN. I don’t remember how old it was but it was not very impressive, kind of stunted looking. We had to drive hours to get there. Trips to see trees have always been a theme on our family trips! Does that make our family weird?

  3. Yep, trees are a big part of our family’s life. I’ve seen so many superlative trees on family vacations, including those redwoods and Monterrey Cyprus.

    Not to mention the willow trees that I got married under.

    You take good pictures of trees!

Leave a Reply

