Cooking / Entertaining

Making Super Super Spicy Vegetarian Enchiladas

The Whole Enchilada

Photo by: sarowen on flickr

Yesterday was my husband’s birthday and he wanted me to cook him a Mexican meal. I got out my trusty Rick Bayless Mexican Kitchen cookbook and took to adapting one of his yummy recipes: Spicy Tomato Sauced Enchiladas with Jalapenos and Aged Cheese. These are not the smothered in yellow cheese and filled with ground beef enchiladas (pictured above). They are much more focused on the flavors of the chiles and aged cheese, which is authentically Mexican (as far as Mr. Bayless tells me!).

Luckily, there is a Mexican grocery down the street, so I stopped there after work to pick up a few supplies that I didn’t already have at home.

I needed:

4 medium tomatoes

1 small can of chipotle chiles in adobo sauce (oodles available at the Mexican grocery, I can sometimes find them at Safeway)

Splash of veggie oil to coat the bottom of a big pot

1 cup chicken broth

6 large corn tortillas

Crumbled queso anejo

Leftover goat cheese from the Pink Christmas Party

Handfull of pickled jalepenos

*The recipe called for one white onion, but I got home from the grocery store and realized I didn’t have one. I just did without it.

 

1. First I made the enchilada sauce:

I roasted the tomatoes in the toaster oven close to the heat for 4 minutes on each side. Then I peeled the skins and coarsly chopped the tomatoes in the food processor with the can of chipotle en adobo.

>>>>>This was my big mistake. The recipe only called for 4-5 jalepenos, and I added a whole can of chipotles. They are super super spicy. I should have added half the can or less. Or added more tomatoes.

While the tomatoes and chiles were chopping, I heated some veggie oil in a big pot. I should have added my chopped onion when it was hot, but I didn’t have one. So I added the tomato/chile mixture. I let this thicken, and then added the chicken stock. I covered the pot and let it simmer for 30 minutes.

2. While the sauce was cooking, I prepared my tortillas by steaming them inside a vegetable steamer. I placed them in the steamer inside a pot with a little water, covered and boiled for a minute or so. Then I left them covered for 15 minutes.

3. I whipped up some rice and beans while the tortillas were steaming and the sauce was simmering.

4. When everything was hot and ready, I dipped both sides of the tortillas in the sauce, and placed three on a plate. I filled the tortillas with a little bit of goat cheese, wrapped them up and topped with more sauce, some crumbled aged Mexican queso and pickled jalepenos.

 

The result was super super spicy. Like on a menu, 4 chiles. Or a man with a red face with steam blowing out of it. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted anything so spicy. Brentan loved it.  I had to grab a glass of milk. Other than the spice, (from the small taste I still had) the sauce had a really good smoky, rich, and slightly sweet flavor. I’ll have to try this again with much less chile!

Luckily, I have enough sauce leftover in the freezer to make more enchiladas, but I’ll have to weaken it by adding more tomatoes.

I think my mouth is still tingling.

-Liz

2 thoughts on “Making Super Super Spicy Vegetarian Enchiladas

  1. Yum! This sounds awesome, so impressed you braved the full-on 4 chiles level. I’m definitely a culinary heat-seeker (love Rick Bayless!), I’ll have to try this!

Leave a Reply

