knitting / Making / Uncategorized

Things Might Get Ugly: Making Felted Slippers

I like to have a little project to work on in the evening while I sit watching TV. We are currently watching ‘Damages’ with Glenn Close on Netflix. While it is a compelling drama, I need something more to keep me from falling asleep. So while rummaging around, I found this hand spun wool that I have had in my closet for the past 20 years or so. I decided to make a pair of felted wool slippers. Since I want to keep track of the complex story line of the show, I did not want a complicated pattern. In fact, the pattern that I chose is so simple that I first learned to knit these slippers when I was 8 years old. I used size US #13 needles and a double strand of yarn. These are so easy that all you need to know is how to knit and how to purl. If you can cast on and cast off too, you can make a slipper in an hour or so.

Yes, the slippers went fast. I was able to pay more attention to the show than to what I was making. I made the Men’s size L so that I could shrink them and make them felted. They were pretty ugly but I soldiered on thinking that once they were fulled, they would magically become charming and beautiful. Next day, I dumped them in with the wash and put them in the dryer with some towels. They shrank but I had to wash them 2 more times to get them to fit. They looked a little better but not much…

Ugly or not, I rarely give up on a project. I am stubborn that way. The slippers were very thick and warm but also very slippery. I now needed to figure out a way to make them less dangerous. I decided to put a leather sole on their bottoms. I had some deer skin and spent the next 2 evenings sewing the leather by hand onto each slipper. They were becoming uglier by the day. I snaked a lace around their tops to make them stay on my feet. I thought about making some felted flowers or something to try to cute them up but well, I think I’m  better off  letting well enough alone. They are warm and they are comfortable but not much else. Sometimes, things can get ugly. Happy knitting! – Peg

7 thoughts on “Things Might Get Ugly: Making Felted Slippers

  1. I am actually pleased to read this blog posts which includes plenty of useful data,
    thanks for providing these kinds of data. If you would like youtube views to the youtube bank account, there are several
    great methods.
    youtube profile, increase youtube views, get more
    views with youtube
    youtube user profile, buy youtube comments, have more views on youtube

  2. I don’t think they’re ugly at all! I thought they turned out much better than I originally pictured while reading your post. And good job for finishing your knitting project–I tried to take it up a few years ago myself but never really got the hang of it. Thanks for linking to me as well on your links page. 🙂

  3. Oh, they are ugly… I always cheer for the underdog though so I guess I’ll keep wearing them 🙂 Wouldn’t want them to feel inferior. I have some expensive slippers too but I kinda like my poor uglies. Uggs, why didn’t I think of that…

Leave a Reply

